Common Wealth Games 2022: Queen’s Baton Relay Arrives Nigeria




By Abdulgafar Oladimeji



The  Common Wealth Games  Queen’s Baton Relay has arrived Nigeria, can  reveal.


The director , press and public relations, federal ministry of youth and sports, Mohammed Manga  in a statement issued on Friday note that the Baton was welcomed into Nigeria at a warm reception witnessed  by top Nigerian  sports dignitaries.


He further note that the President, Common Wealth Games Nigeria, Engr. Habul Gumel  was at   Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja  to receive the Baton.


He added that , Habu Gumel will forward   the Queen’s Baton Relay  to  Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr. Sunday Dare, adding that  , Mr Dare is expected to   handover Baton  to President Muhammadu Buhari.


It is gathered that   Nigeria is the first  African country  to host   the Queen’s Baton Relay.



“ The Relay started in October 2021; when Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II placed her message to the Commonwealth into the Baton. The Baton will then travel for 294 days, connecting communities in every corner of the Commonwealth, embracing unique cultures and sharing stories”.




“Engr. Gumel explained that Nigeria is the third country to receive the Queen’s Baton Relay after which it will tour 15 other African countries before moving to Asia.


“The 15 other African Countries are: Gambia (October 16), Sierra Leone (October 23), Ghana (October 26), Cameroon (October 29), Kenya (November 2), Uganda (November 5), Rwanda (November 10), Tanzania (November 13), Malawi (November 17) and Zambia (November 20).


“Also, Mozambique (November 23), Mauritius (November 27), Botswana (November 30), St. Helena (December 5), South Africa (December 8), Namibia (December 14), Eswatini (December 17), Lesotho (December 20) Seychelles (December 23).


“Birmingham 2022 will stage the 16th official Queen’s Baton Relay – an epic journey across  the Commonwealth,  with The Queen’s Baton visiting all 72 nations and territories, reaching Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania, the Caribbean and the Americas.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here