Nigeria Football League gets new name


Nigeria Football League gets new name

By Abdulgafar Oladimeji

 Nigeria Football Federation, NFF , today Sunday  at its  79TH Annual General Assembly, AGA held in Uyo the capital city of Akwaibom State  have approved the change of name of the Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL to Nigeria Premier Football League.

 According to the comminque issued at the end of the of the AGA stated that “ The Congress approved the change of name of the Nigeria Professional Football League to the Nigeria Premier Football League.

The communiqué issued by the federation’s media department said “The Congress of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) held its 79th Annual General Assembly on Sunday, 10th September 2023 at Monty Suites Hotel, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State and resolved as follows:

“After appraising the efforts, commitment and passion of the Akwa Ibom State government to the development and real growth of Nigeria Football through its support and encouragement of the NFF and the National Teams, the Congress commended Governor Umo Bassey Eno and his cabinet, and encouraged them to do even more as the Super Eagles are ready to make Uyo its home for the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches.

“Nigeria’s FIFA Council Member and Member of the CAF Executive Committee, Mr. Amaju Melvin Pinnick in a brief remark urged all members of the NFF General Assembly to support the President, Alhaji Ibrahim Gusau in his quest to move Nigeria football forward.  He noted that 2023 is a very crucial year for football globally as teams are jostling to qualify for the 2026 World Cup. He called on all to work in unison and support the Super Eagles to secure a ticket to the 2026 FIFA World Cup finals.

“The Congress pledged full support to the Super Eagles in its quest to qualify for the FIFA World Cup USA/Mexico/Canada 2026.

“The Congress appreciated the efforts of the various National Teams, in particular the outstanding performance of the Super Falcons at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023, and the U17 girls’ bronze medal-winning effort at the FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup India 2022.

COMMUNIQUE DRAFTING COMMITTEE: Alhaji Abubakar C. Ladan (Chairman); Barr. Paul Edeh (Member); Barr. Tony Ugwu (Member); Mr. Ademola Olajire (Secretary).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here